Just some ideas I've been messing with.

General User Chat
Cendeu

Just some ideas I've been messing with.

Post by Cendeu »

Hey everyone! I'm really new to the game, having played it on and off for maybe... 2 years now. I've always been into game design and pixel art as hobbies, so when playing games I'm always thinking of ways to make them better or more user-friendly. I was bored one day, so I screenshotted Drakkar, brought the picture up in GraphicsGale and messed around with it.

Here is a picture of what I've messed with so far.

So far I've made a few changes:
  • No more hearts for health! Enemy health is shown as a bar behind their name. Friendlies and Neutrals would have Blue/Grey healthbars, but none were in the picture to show. Added a little dithering for a clean looking bar texture.
  • Your Health/Energy is shown as a bar and a number, instead of either-or. This especially has always bothered me. Bars in video games allow a quick glance to show you how you're doing. Numbers allow exact amounts to be used for precise spell casts. It's imperative to have both, in my opinion. I made it look a bit nicer by adding a drop shadow to the bars (since they're bars instead of boxes now).
  • Removed the "chain-like" background behind the macro bar. In my opinion, that made everything look a bit too cluttered. It's a personal preference, but I think it looks nice. I also cleaned up the upper side of it, and removed a pixel of height from the button showing which bar you have active.
  • Various small pixel-art changes. Right now these just include adding a black border around the bag/belt/etc buttons, and "finishing" the top of the graphic above the character portrait (around the top jewel).