Time to stop over gearing new players

General User Chat
Kiya138

Time to stop over gearing new players

Post by Kiya138 »

I think its time we stop over gearing new players.

When i started playing Drak on ien, a little over 4 yers ago, newb gear was yeti, kitty, rak. Most of us managed to get by with those til 11/8 or 13/10, psi users were encouraged to get the items for muzi quest. Lately, many newb's expect to have top scale, robes etc, handed to them. they also expect Uzi's, +6 hally's, Slicers, Bresh, stiletto's, even baskies handed to them.

I've seen more teeny crits, unmaxed, toting Bresh, stilrtto, wearing sliths, reggies etc. There are not enough of these for players who have played for a reasonable period, gained the experience and earned the skills to need or require most of the nork higher end lairs.

I have been in cob less than a week and find that many there are wanting gear that they are not really ready for, partly because they have had so much handed too them, at a smaller size.

I'm not including returning players, either with imported accts or new ones, as they have, at one time or another earned the items mentioned earlier. I am however, including the children of long time tenured players, who are often over geared by doting parents.

Instead of exp lvl requirement for most lairs, and cob, make it skill requirements. if don't have reasonable skill, no lair or cob. Many players are interested in getting the exp for cob without the appropriate skill to do even fair there. If they could get to 18/1 they'd be in cob in a heart beat. Something like skill 13 for psi and skill 15 for sticks.

Kiya/Kiri
Last edited by Kiya138 on Wed Jan 29, 2003 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

purg2

Replying to Topic 'Time to stop over gearing new players'

Post by purg2 »